top of page

Nevados: A Tapas and Tequila Adventure in Downtown Fernie


We came on a rather busy day. They took our name and phone number and texted us when our table was ready. That gave us some time to explore the downtown area. Each dish made its it's way to us in a timely manner at separate intervals. We never had a crowded table, and we were never wondering where our food was. The multiple servers who helped us were nice, and efficient. Although when asked for an option between two dishes, she answered "both are good." I DO believe both are good, but it wasn't a helpful answer.


Nevados Logo
Nevado's Logo

I like the logo. It was dark, but just enough so it felt intimate. Music is loud which provides a certain night life quality. The art and décor wasn't very reminiscent of Spanish food. Each dish was presented with care. I wish I had been sitting further in the back, as I saw into the open kitchen on my way to the bathroom. I like that the bathroom was private as opposed to a stall bathroom and had the same lighting as the rest of the restaurant.


Each dish delivered an immeasurable amount of flavour and excitement. Even the dishes that weren't my favorite (for example the Papas en Salsa Roja) satisfied my taste for adventure. There is a complexity to each dish, leaving me wondering "why was that so good." Definitely an experience I am happy I had. My favorite dish of the night (and my girlfriend's favorite) was the Beef Arepa. The texture of the Arepa itself was fluffy, and crispy; almost flaky. I found the Papas en Salsa Roja to be a little too rich for my liking. It was also missing something I feel. Perhaps a bit of spice on the potatoes. But I haven't eaten a dish like that before, so maybe I'm the one who is wrong.



This is where it gets kind of hard. This is a tapas restaurant, so we ordered a number of small dishes ranging from $5 to $8. We ordered margaritas as well. When a restaurant advertises "Tapas and Tequila" you bet I'm gonna drink some tequila. 1.5 oz for 12 dollars. It tasted like a margarita. All in all me and my girlfriend left with full bellies, and full hearts. All at the cost of about $120

At the end of the day, what i was paying for was a really fun night of trying new things with my girlfriend in beautiful downtown Fernie. I would definitely suggest this experience to anyone who adores good food. I feel bad for the next restaurant I eat at, because it sure won't live up to the quality that Nevados brought to me.

Comments


bottom of page